Photo Friday

It looks like I’ve been hit full on with pregnancy brain/mom brain today since I completely forgot it was Friday and I needed to do a photo post. Luckily we have a system in place for Chris to text me a reminder, which usually happens just as I’m finishing up the post for the week. Lewis also seems to be cooperating by having a nice long nap so I (hopefully) have time to finish this before he wakes. It’s not surprising since we had a busy morning and he also took a while to fall asleep today. I could hear him being very busy in his bed pretending to be a fork lift, and an excavator, and a dump truck, and I’m sure all sorts of other things too. He is on a construction kick right now because they have been paving in front of our apartments this week and we also took the book Diggers Go out from the library today. (All the books in this series are a lot of fun for toddlers with great pictures and full of fun sound effects. There is a trains one, diggers, planes, and trucks. Lewis enjoys them all.)

We went to the library this morning despite the fact that all I’ve wanted to do all week is sit on the couch. Baby is due Monday, and as I mentioned last week (I think) I am definitely feeling very pregnant now! I get tired if I’m on my feet for much longer than ten minutes, though it actually seems worse when I am just standing in one place (dish washing, prepping dinner, playing outside with Lewis, etc.) than when I’m actually walking and moving. So, I decided we would go to the library since we had a book due next Tues. and also it just seemed like a good idea to get both Lewis and myself out of the house. We had fun and came home with a pile of new books as usual. (Most of which we will read once or twice and then Lewis will declare he doesn’t like them anymore.) After the library we went to Starbucks for a treat despite the fact that it was almost lunch time. Lewis picked his favorite, a cake pop, and I got my decaf coffee frappuccino and we were both happy to sit and relax outside for a little while. Then we came home and had our real lunch which consisted of leftovers for me and a whole heap of peanut butter licked off apple slices for Lewis. I think he may have eaten a few bites of apple too, but mostly he would just live on peanut butter if he could.

Anyway, I know you are all here for the pictures and not my babbling, so here is the cuteness for the week:

Classic tongue-stuck-out in concentration.

Classic tongue-stuck-out in concentration.

My amazing little guy is loving the pool this year and has discovered that he can paddle around on his own with the help of a pool noodle!

My amazing little guy is loving the pool this year and has discovered that he can paddle around on his own with the help of a pool noodle!

I got my big belly into the pool last weekend for a little swimming and it actually wasn't freezing cold, but now the temperatures have dropped down all this week and will be a bit lower next week too, so I will probably be avoiding the cold water again for now!

I got my big belly into the pool last weekend for a little swimming and it actually wasn’t freezing cold, but now the temperatures have dropped down all this week and will be a bit lower next week too, so I will probably be avoiding the cold water again for now!

Gathering pill bugs.

Gathering pill bugs.

This is a boy who doesn't like onions and will pick the tiniest speck out of food, yet when I went to chop up this green onion he insisted that he needed to have it and spent quite a while chomping away on it.

This is a boy who doesn’t like onions and will pick the tiniest speck out of food, yet when I went to chop up this green onion he insisted that he needed to have it and spent quite a while chomping away on it.

Lewis created a sculpture with the wheels for our new stroller.

Lewis created a sculpture with the wheels for our new stroller.

Watching the paving work getting started. They had pick axes and sledge hammers! And a mini excavator! And dump truck! And steam roller! It was a wonderful day of entertainment for Lewis to watch.

Watching the paving work getting started. They had pick axes and sledge hammers! And a mini excavator! And dump truck! And steam roller! It was a wonderful day of entertainment for Lewis to watch.

A Lewis-eye-view of the newly paved road.

A Lewis-eye-view of the newly paved road.

Also by Lewis. A bit of loose pavement, and some cat footprints preserved in our front walkway.

Also by Lewis. A bit of loose pavement, and some cat footprints preserved in our front walkway.

Lewis' view of Mama sitting outside watching him play.

Lewis’ view of Mama sitting outside watching him play.

5 thoughts on “Photo Friday

  1. I have so much respect for you right now! You’re much more active than I was at that stage in either of my pregnancies. It was almost all I could do just to walk around the house or go grocery shopping. 🙂

    • Thank you Kayla! Lewis is so active I often don’t have much choice in how active I have to be to keep up with him. 😉 I’ve also been trying to push myself to keep moving (with naps when needed of course!) They always say that walking a lot can trigger labor, so I’m hoping maybe that is true. 🙂

      • Kids definitely help with that! For my first pregnancy, I went to my husband’s work with him for a full 8 hour shift and walked pretty much the entire time. I ended up going into labor just a few days later. I hope you don’t have too much longer to wait! I remember time seems to really drag those last few weeks.

Leave a Reply

