Birthday Letter

Dear Lewis,

Happy Birthday! You are turning two today, although in some ways you seem much older than that. You are so smart, funny, creative, sweet, and imaginative. You bring so much joy to every day for both me and your Daddy. I can’t believe how much you have grown from when we first got to meet you, and I can’t wait to see how much you continue growing and learning in this new year of your life.

New folder2

You are still my little baby in some ways, still breastfeeding, still waking once or more in the night, still need lots of love and reassurance at times. But in other ways you are becoming so grown up. You decided a week ago that it was time to start wearing underwear, and you are rocking that decision. You have been dry all day the past two or three days, including during your naps. You are also becoming more and more social and comfortable talking to and interacting with people outside of our family. You are a wonderful and sweet little man (although you do get a bit wild at times) and you are starting to show that you are learning some wonderful manners. I love hearing your little voice say “Tank you Dada” or “Tank you Mama” when we give you something or share something with you. You are also remembering to say “please” more and more often when you want something or need our help.

IMG_7261

Play time with his new Little People fire station and some of his other new toys. Grandpa was having almost as much fun playing as Lewis was.

This time of year it is hard for much of our family to come visit us, but we were lucky to have Grandma and Grandpa B stop by for a few hours on Sunday. It was just enough time for a yummy birthday lunch and cake, opening up your presents, and some fun play time together. You were clearly loving every minute with them and have already been asking me when they will visit again. The visit seems to have brought other family to mind as well since you have also been asking about your Aunts and Uncles, and requesting to go to Michigan to see our family out there. Luckily for you we will get chances to see everyone again over the next few months, including a trip to MI for Christmas.

You seem to be really enjoying all your new presents equally, and I am pleased that Daddy and I were able to choose so well for you. You didn’t give us much to go on – when I asked you what you would like for your birthday your response was “cake!” And yes you got a yummy cake and since there are only three of us to eat it up there is plenty more to have some tonight on your “real” birthday. You requested chocolate, and so I used my family’s standard chocolate zucchini cake recipe, but it turned out your favorite part was the buttercream frosting on top. I decorated it with bugs on top and thought I did a pretty decent job, but you apparently thought my ladybug was a melon so now I’m not so sure…

Melon beetle?

Melon beetle?

"Yes! This is what I've been waiting for!"

“Yes! This is what I’ve been waiting for!”

I hope you are having a truly fabulous birthday my darling, and that this coming year continues to bring much joy, love, and excitement for you. I am looking forward to more art, stories, games of tag and hide and seek, play time in the snow, and adventures to new and wonderful places. I love you so much, and love all of our time together.

Happy happy birthday my darling!

Love, Mama

Leave a Reply

