ICAD Week 1 In Review

The first week of ICAD is complete! If you haven’t joined in on the fun yet, there is still time – there is no right or wrong way of doing this.

I have been having fun creating this week, setting aside some time for myself once Lewis goes down for his daily nap, or sometimes working together with him while he does his own coloring/painting/whatever. The weekly theme was “Text” and I think I managed to include some form of writing on each of my cards. I followed the daily prompts every day except one, but I think I may choose to move away from the prompts a bit more as the challenge goes on. So, here are my cards for the week!

#1. The prompt was “Prism.” I sketched the prism and rainbow, colored the rainbow with Crayola washable markers, then painted on water to bleed the colors. Wrote the haiku with Super Fine point Sharpies, then dabbed black ink all around for the background.

Prism.

Prism.

#2. The prompt was “Circus Tent” which I chose to skip. When I finished the Prism card, I showed it to Chris and declared “1 down, 6o more to go!” His response was “Good luck with that!” When I saw this same phrase on a newspaper headline the next day I knew I needed to work it into a card. Watercolor background, pen, and cut-out phrases glued on.

Good luck with that!

Good luck with that!

#3. “My Name Is.” Simple colored pencil drawing.

My name is Tree.

My name is Tree.

#4. Puzzle. Crossword puzzle with a quote written onto it, doodles, some squares colored in black, and a bit of paint.

Puzzle.

Puzzle.

#5. Galaxy. Wasn’t sure where to go with this prompt, so I started looking through my box of random papers/junk mail/etc. I have collected, and found this Justice League comic book, which came out of a cereal box. Collage made all from pieces cut from the comic.

Galaxy/Space.

Galaxy/Space.

#6. Nail Polish. Previously made background with watercolors and watercolor pencils. Dripped and dribbled on teal nail polish. Glued on words.

Nail Polish.

Nail Polish.

#7. Yellow. Collage bits with yellow, orange, and black doodles. This is basically a mini version of a journal page I did a while ago, but it’s what came to mind when I read the prompt.

Yellow.

Yellow.

That’s it for this week! I’m having a lot of fun and enjoying the added creativity in my days. The challenge is already getting me to try new things and use materials that have been sitting around unused for ages. Stay tuned for more weekly installments of ICAD cards, and at some point a post about creating cards with Lewis (yes, I know, the toddler cuteness is the real reason you all read my blog.)

Leave a Reply

