ICAD Begins!

Today is the first day of the Index Card A Day (ICAD) art challenge that I posted about a week or so ago!

If you are interested in joining in check out the FAQ over at Daisy Yellow. The basic concept is to nurture a daily art habit through creating on one index card each day. The challenge runs from June 1 – July 31, 61 days total, but you can jump in at any time. It’s all about having fun and playing around with creativity.

Index card doodles from a couple weeks ago.

Index card doodles from a couple weeks ago.

Tammy will be posting two types of creative inspiration on the site each week. For each week there will be a “theme” (week one is “text”) as well as daily prompts to spark your creativity. These themes and prompts are completely optional, and you can choose to use one, both, or neither. For now I am starting off incorporating both into my work, but I may stray from them later on if I have other ideas I want to explore.

Today's theme is "Prism."

Today’s theme is “Prism.”

I had a lot of fun creating today’s card. My original idea was to write the haiku on top of the rainbow, but once I started working I decided it would look better on its own part of the card, so then I just tied the rainbow colors into the text. This card was created using a pencil, a black pen, Crayola washable markers, water, super fine point Sharpie markers, and a black ink pad. I just started playing with bleeding marker colors a couple days ago, painting water over the marker lines. Dabbing the ink onto the card for the background was a new technique for me as well. This challenge is all about playing and experimenting!

"Grid" card, created for one of the pre-challenge warm ups Tammy posted.

“Grid” card, created for one of the pre-challenge warm ups Tammy posted.

There is also a great community involved in the ICAD challenge. The Facebook group is especially busy and full of people posting their beautiful cards and commenting on everyone else’s artwork. I’m enjoying seeing everyone else’s art, but it’s a little hard to keep up with it all! I guess I will just browse through when I have the time, but not stress about trying to see every single card that is posted. There is a Flickr page as well which is much quieter but still a great place to see some ICAD loveliness.

And of course, stay tuned here if you’d like to see more of my creations. I will probably be posting once a week-ish throughout the challenge.

 

 

Leave a Reply

