Outdoor Adventure

We’ve been lucky to have some warm-ish weather this past week. It’s starting to cool off a bit although it is still nice and sunny today, but Monday was a really beautiful day.

We went out for a walk and a trip to the grocery store before Lewis’ morning nap. He does really great going to the store in his stroller and rarely gets fussy, but I do try to make it as quick as possible. After getting our groceries we stopped and watched the construction going on outside, where they tore down an empty Friendly’s restaurant and are now creating more parking lot space. Lewis loves to watch the trucks every time we go by, especially the excavators! We got lucky and they were using the big excavator to scoop up dirt into a dump truck, so we watched that for a bit before heading home for nap time.

Later in the afternoon I decided it was time to get out for some play time. We’ve got to take advantage of this nice weather while we have it! Who knows when more cold or even snowy weather will show up. (Although of course we will play in the snow as well this year.)

We got bundled up and headed outside. I find Lewis cooperates better if I let him pick which jacket/hat/etc. to wear. He chose a bright orange sweater and his blue hat. (He loves the fluffy pom-pom.) When we got outside he checked in with the dirt in my empty flower pots and then almost immediately headed over to the storm drain. He loves finding tiny things to drop in. I figure little leaves and berries and such won’t hurt anything but I don’t let him drop in big rocks or sticks or anything that might clog up the drain.

IMG_1583After we played by the drain for a while I suggested we continue walking and Lewis took off running along the side of the parkinglot/driveway/whatever. We ran into one of our neighbors and stopped to chat for a bit but after about 5 minutes Lewis got antsy so we continued on our adventure.

Once I put him down he took off at a run again, clearly with somewhere in mind to go. We made brief stops at two more storm drains, then he climbed up the big hill to the gate without asking for any help. Once we got through the gate into the outside world he started heading towards the road so I scooped him up, helped him look for cars, and then crossed when it was safe.

On the other side of the road is the grocery store we had walked to earlier and the construction, so I figured he was on a mission to go look at the trucks again.

IMG_1588The excavator was at work again, but after looking for about 5 seconds he decided it was too exciting to be over in this area without his stroller, and explored all the bushes/landscaping in the strip of grass between the sidewalk and parkinglot.

We found a lot of fun things to explore including bushes with berries, old dried up flowers still on the plants, pine trees to crawl under, woodchips, and lots of acorns!

"I know I can't eat these berries and Mommy doesn't really want me picking them, but they are super interested so I'm going to touch them with my open 'gentle' hands."

“I know I can’t eat these berries and Mommy doesn’t really want me picking them, but they are super interesting so I’m going to touch them with my open ‘gentle’ hands.”

Prickly dry flowers.

Prickly dry flowers.

After we explored for a while we started feeling pretty chilly from the wind, so we started heading back towards home. I carried him back up the sidewalk, across the street and to the gate, but then he wanted to get down and be on the move again.

Blurry photo of the big hill he walked up before, and also walked back down all on his own without a problem.

Blurry photo of the big hill he walked up before, and also walked back down all on his own without a problem.

He did a great job staying on track to head back to the apartment, with just one slight distraction looking at a bench.

He is fascinated with screws holding things together, and points them out where ever he spots them. "Bew, bew."

He is fascinated with screws holding things together, and points them out where ever he spots them. “Bew, bew.”

I had such a fun time going on this little adventure with him. I loved that I could just let him explore where he wanted to go and completely just follow his lead. I tried to take him out again yesterday, but he was too wrapped up in playing with sponges and duckies, and had no interest in going outside so we ended up staying in. I will definitely get us back outdoors for some more fun today though!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

