Another Week

Another week is almost over, again with me not blogging nearly as often as I’d like. It didn’t fly by quite like last week did. This week has felt a little off-kilter. Not bad, just off. We slept in (by about an hour or so) a couple of mornings, which threw off our routines for those days by a bit. Despite the sleeping in, I’ve been feeling tired this week which results in also being a bit unfocused feeling. I had a lovely nap this afternoon though, so maybe tomorrow I will have a bit more energy and feel a bit more “normal.”

Most of our week has been filled with normal routine-y things. Playing, reading books, cooking, cleaning.

Lewis is a good helper with the cleaning. If by “helper” you understand that I mean he likes to steal the broom from me.

IMG_9879

I’ve still been feeling a lot of creative energy and a drive to work on my art journal and other projects. In a way, I think this is part of why I’ve been feeling “off.” Some kind of disconnect between wanting to put my energy into art and knowing I need to keep up with the housework and cooking and stuff, and not having enough time to do as much of both as I would like. I’ve been striving to find a balance, and giving myself a little bit of time to work on art each day while Lewis naps.

These pages are the work of several naptimes. Multi-layer mixed media backgrounds with marker drawing flowers which Lewie's aunties mailed to him.

These pages are the work of several naptimes. Multi-layer mixed media backgrounds with marker drawing flowers which Lewie’s aunties mailed to him.

Housework and artwork can both be difficult to do while he is awake. He just has so much energy and is always on the go, moving from one activity to another. He likes to have me involved in what he is doing, or at least nearby. He also wants to be involved in what I am doing. Cooking or washing dishes he doesn’t like because he can’t see what is going on up on the counters. With art it is just a matter of him wanting to use my materials, and I can’t exactly let him chew on dirty paintbrushes, squirt paint and glue around, play with scissors, or pull the caps off Sharpies. Pretty much the only safe thing I can do is to doodle with colored pencils or a clicky pen which he hasn’t figured out yet.

We’ve been reading and reading and reading. He loves to pull the books off his shelf to find just the right one. We have some out in a basket and a few on the floor where it is easier for him to see what they are, but he just enjoys pulling books off the shelf in general. We made a trip to the library a few days ago. We played for almost an hour and he didn’t want to leave. We read some books, played with a puzzle, and even had a little tea party with some play dishes and a dolly that were there. He’s also been having a lot of fun with his plastic activity cones “traffic cones” that Uncle Kenny gave him for his birthday. He loves when we stack them up for him to knock over. Better than blocks!

The weather has been getting cooler. We haven’t been doing our usual morning walks because it is so chilly. Instead we are back to walking after lunch like we had been doing in the spring. We have also been getting out to play and really enjoying the cool weather and changing season. We have been finding acorns, pine cones, unidentified green nut shells, crab apples, and some dry leaves to play with when we are outside. He is of course curious to explore things with his mouth but he is good about listening when I remind him not to. I have been trying to direct his energy to practicing throwing with the acorns and such which has the added benefit of getting them out of his hand so he isn’t just holding onto it and absentmindedly putting it to his mouth.

Yesterday playing outside one of our neighbors came out to say hi and offered to take a photo of the two of us since she saw me with my camera.

Yesterday playing outside one of our neighbors came out to say hi and offered to take a photo of the two of us since she saw me with my camera.

Tomorrow is friday and will probably include more cleaning, playing, art, reading, and outside time. Then comes the weekend which means more cooking/baking with apples, and fun play time with Daddy. Stay tuned for Photo Friday tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

