Birthday Party

My little Lewis is almost a year old! This past weekend we drove out to visit my parents in Vermont, and we had a little birthday celebration while we were there. He had already gotten most of his presents when we were at the cabin in August, but we didn’t really do a “party” then, so we decided to have a homemade carrot cake for him and give him his presents from me and Chris (a few books and this music set.)

He’s had a lot of fun with the music toys already. He also seems to like his books, which I read with him during the car ride home. (It’s a two hour drive and he only napped for half the time.)

Of course he enjoyed his cake also! He heard my mom using the mixer when she was making the cream cheese frosting, so we went in to watch her and he had a little pre-taste of it and then kept asking for more. She cooked the cake in two round pans and then a small heart shaped pan, which is what he got to have. I don’t have any photos of him with the whole thing in front of him, but I think my dad got some good shots. Of course, it’s the messy pictures that everyone loves to see anyway!

IMG_9338

Despite the mess on his tray he surprisingly managed to hardly get any on himself. His shirt and body were amazingly clean.

IMG_9351

“This is the best thing I ever ate!”

He got to use the same wooden highchair that my siblings and I all used as children. We had fun looking at some old photos of my youngest sister in the highchair.

It was rainy for a lot of the weekend, but we did get a few chances to get out and play. My parents still live in the house where I grew up, which has a wonderful back yard perfect for playing in, and there are still some random toys out in the barn like frisbees and balls.

"This is just the right size for me."

“This is just the right size for me.”

He loved all the flowers growing around the yard and set off on his own to go admire them.

He loved all the flowers growing around the yard and set off on his own to go admire them.

He is continuing to grow more and more comfortable around other people, or at least my family. He was very happy to hang out with Grandma, Grandpa, and Auntie Chrissy and didn’t care if they brought him out of the room or if Mommy or Daddy walked away while he was playing with them. There are also two cats in the house so of course he had a lot of fun trying to find them and trying to get close enough to pet them!

Silly Grandma doing patty-cake with his feet.

Silly Grandma doing patty-cake with his feet.

It’s hard to believe that my “baby” will be 1 in less than a week! I don’t think we’ll be doing a party since it will just be the three of us and we already had two mini-parties, but we will definitely be getting him a birthday balloon! He gets excited every time he sees them in the grocery store, and all summer I have promised him he could have one for his birthday.

 

Leave a Reply

