My Little Artist

It seems that my recent creative energy is also getting passed along to Lewis. We had a busy creative day today with both painting and drawing. He has also been very into stickers recently. If he finds anything with a sticker on it he will try to peel it off. He also knows where his stickers are kept and will sometimes “ask” to play with them. I usually stick two or three onto something for him to peel off. He then sometimes tries to stick them back on, or stick them to his shirt or himself, but most of the time he just walks around with stickers in his hands until he loses them/forgets about them.

Picked up the dish of paint and discovered how it dripped. He continued to purposefully do this each time I refilled the dishes for him. Fun!

Picked up the dish of paint and discovered how it dripped. He continued to purposefully do this each time I refilled the dishes for him. Fun!

I made a mixture of flour, corn starch, water, and food coloring for our paint again. It works pretty well but maybe next time I will look up some of the toddler-paint recipes I’ve seen on pinterest and try out a new mixture.

He's just like a cat. If I spread a newspaper on the floor to look at he will sit in the middle of that too.

He’s just like a cat. If I spread a newspaper on the floor to look at he will sit in the middle of that too.

Uh-oh got a hold of Mommy's tape. It's a little messy now. He likes to try to peel it, just like his stickers.

Uh-oh got a hold of Mommy’s tape. It’s a little messy now. He likes to try to peel it, just like his stickers.

He gave the paint a few tastes but didn’t eat much of it. He did manage to get it all over his legs, arms, tummy, etc. and even some on his back. Good thing I planned ahead and had everything ready to toss him in the bath when he was done!

After painting and getting cleaned up he noticed that I had left out my giant sketchbook after tearing out a paper to paint on. Since he looked interested in it I decided to try coloring with him again.

He always shows a lot of interest when I am writing/drawing, but usually once he gets his hands on a pen/marker/crayon he pretty much just tries to eat it and doesn’t try to color. Crayons he can take bites out of and pens and markers will get ink in his mouth which doesn’t sound like a good thing, so I’ve been shying away from offering to let him color as much. Today I decided to try colored pencils with him. He did put them in his mouth but he can’t really get anything off of it like the other things, and they are labeled “nontoxic” so I think I might stick with colored pencils from now on. He chews on sticks outside, so it’s not too different, right?

He added some beautiful scribbles over my tree and shapes that I drew.

He added some beautiful scribbles over my tree and shapes that I drew.

I basically just got out the pencils and started doodling on the paper. I didn’t try to ask him to color, just let him discover the pencils in his own time. After he checked them out with his mouth and watched me color a bit he decided to join in. I was glad to see how easy it was for him to make marks with the pencils, since he doesn’t really know how to put any pressure into his drawing yet. He could easily see the results of his scribbling the pencil back and forth.

After coloring on my tree a bit he decided to flip some of the pages in the sketchbook. I started drawing a flower on another page and he joined in again.

After coloring on my tree a bit he decided to flip some of the pages in the sketchbook. I started drawing a flower on another page and he joined in again.

I was impressed with how much scribbling he did since this was the longest I’ve seen coloring hold his interest. He did try to chew the pencils in between making scribbles, but he kept coming back to the drawing.

Looking at development charts and such online most things seem to say that scribbling can start at 12-13 months or even later, so according to that he is “ahead.” Maybe he will be a great artist or writer some day! I’m also curious how much of that just has to do with parents not giving baby opportunities to color earlier than that. Whether or not he is some kind of scribbling genius-baby, he seems to enjoy it so I’ll keep giving him opportunities to try drawing.

4 thoughts on “My Little Artist

  1. My daughter is only allowed to use colored pencils for the same reason! I’d never heard of starting children with colored pencils before, but I guess it works for both of us. Thanks for visiting my blog. How old is your son btw?

    • He’s 11 months as of a couple days ago. I can’t believe how fast it is going! I was a little surprised when I finally realized the colored pencils would be a good choice, since usually you think of them as being for “big kids,” but it works!

Leave a Reply

