Transitioning To Toddler

Lewis is almost 11 months old and it’s becoming clearer and clearer that he’s not such a baby anymore. He’s been walking for a few weeks now, firmly qualifying him as a toddler. He’s babbling a lot more, making new sounds and stringing his da-da-da’s and ba-ba-ba’s and other sounds together in new combinations with new expression, clearly “talking” and trying to communicate with us. I’m waiting for him to bust out with some actual words (besides Da Da) in the very near future.

We’re also starting to retire some of his baby equipment and upgrade to bigger and better versions. We stopped by Target today and got an Evenflo Truimph convertible car seat to replace his old Graco Snugride.

IMG_8530Chris installed the new seat in the car this afternoon. Lewis won’t be testing it out  until next weekend, but I think he’s going to like it. We’re keeping him rear-facing for a while since that is safest, but I think he will still be a little higher up and be able to see a bit more out the windows.

Tiny little Lewis heading home from the hospital.

Tiny little Lewis heading home from the hospital.

Fourth of July. Ten month Lewis, almost too big for the seat!

Fourth of July. Ten month Lewis, almost too big for the seat!

 

I’ve also decided to retire his infant bath. He’s been fighting baths for the past month, suddenly deciding that he objects to sitting down in the water. He always looks interested as I get the bath ready and happily lets me put him into his tub, but almost immediately starts trying to climb back out and over the edge of the bath tub, crying if I don’t help him get out. Today at target we picked up and no skid mat for the bottom of the tub to try out baths without the baby tub. I got in with him for our first test run, and he did really great and let me wash his whole body and even his hair. He seemed to like having more space to play with his toys and more freedom to move around. I’ll probably bathe with him a couple more times but hopefully he will get over his bath-aversion and be happy to take his baths and play in the water again soon.

Mid-June and one of the last few times he willingly sat in his whale tub and let me wash his hair and everything.

Mid-June and one of the last few times he willingly sat in his whale tub and let me wash his hair and everything.

It’s crazy and amazing to think how much he has grown and learned in the past few months. It’s so exciting to see these transitions, and see him moving into my favorite stage/age.

He’ll be 1 in a month and a half and I’m sure I’ll write a big nostalgic post with lots of “than and now” photos and such, but with all these changes we’re reaching now it already feels like we’re making that transition to toddlerhood that is so often associated with that first birthday. This next couple months will probably be sprinkled with these posts as I make the mental adjustment to realizing he’s no longer my tiny baby. Plus, it’s fun to look back at all those teensy tiny little baby photos!

 

2 thoughts on “Transitioning To Toddler

  1. I goes by so fast! I love reading your posts. Our boys are so close in age, so whenever I read what Lewis has been up to I think, “hey! Easton is doing the same thing!” I love how you write about his day to day routine. One day when he is grown he will be able to look back and see what you wrote about him. I think that is so cool! 🙂

Leave a Reply

