Using My Time Wisely

As I mentioned in my last post, we leave tomorrow to head up to camp again for several days. We like to get going as early as we can in the day, to maximize our time on the lake. This means that the more cleaning and packing I get done today the better. So what did I decide to do? Bake some little peach & blueberry hand pies.

Yum! Some of them got a little over-filled, and spilled their deliciousness out the sides.

Yum! Some of them got a little over-filled, and spilled their deliciousness out the sides.

Of course baking just means that I am using up my limited time making more mess instead of dealing with the mess I already need to clean. Oh well! I’ve been itching to do some baking with all the fresh fruit there is around right now, and I think these little guys are worth giving myself extra work.

IMG_7860I baked these while Lewis was napping earlier and a little while after he got up he noticed them cooling on the pans. Often when he sees food he immediately starts asking for it, but this time he was only a little interested at first. He didn’t start asking for one until I started putting them away, so I put him in the high chair for a snack. I gave him a whole one to see what he would do with it.

IMG_7869He just looked at it like “what the heck is this anyway?” and started picking apart the top of the pastry. After he picked at it a bit I helped him break it into some smaller pieces so he could manage it better and see the insides. He liked eating all the pieces of peach and tried a couple bites of the pastry, but wasn’t as into it as I thought he might be. I also don’t think he was that hungry at the time, so if I gave him one at a time when he normally eats maybe he’d be more into it.

I based my pies after the Kitchn’s Summer Recipe: Peach and Ginger Hand Pies. I added some blueberries to mine because I had some in the fridge and it sounded yummy. I also used Puff Pastry for the crust, to save myself a little time over mixing up my own crust (which I usually do for pies). I baked mine at 400 degrees for 15 minutes.

 

 

One thought on “Using My Time Wisely

  1. Pingback: baking with children | Artsy Wanderer

Leave a Reply

