Caught In The Rain

Well I don’t have a specific “topic” to write about today like I sometimes do, but figured I would do an update with some of the random little things that we have been busy with.

Things have been pretty relaxed around here, not too much out of the ordinary going on. Over the weekend we did some shopping, which seems to happen pretty much every weekend. I’ve really got to work on getting my license so I’ll be able to just run to the store when I want something instead of always making Chris drive me everywhere. Does anyone know if there is a way to magically learn to drive without practicing at all?

We’ve been having rain, rain, and more rain, as I’m sure many of you are also experiencing. We are working with the weather as best we can and getting outside whenever we have the chance. We’re lucky to have a pool in our apartment complex and I’ve now taking Lewis swimming twice without Chris along and it went great both times. Lewis enjoys the water, and also loves just walking around inside the pool area exploring the chairs and umbrellas, and especially the wood chips that are all around the outside of the paved area.

IMG_7812

The rain seems to have calmed down just a bit the past few days, so we’ve made it out for our morning walks a little more often and even got to go play in the grass a couple of times this past week.

Somehow my brain completely forgot about the rainy weather today, though. I must have been wishfully thinking there was no more rain. We went to the library for story time, which was fun. There were more boys today and more babies closer to Lewis’ age and a few older. (Although he still just wanted to play with the doorstop and floor cushions, and not the toys or other babies.) Unfortunately, we got caught in the rain as we were walking home. It is a very short walk, but there happened to be quite a downpour at just the wrong time and we got pretty soaked. Lewis was not impressed.

As soon as we got inside and I got him out of the stroller he started begging to nurse, since that is his favorite way to be comforted. I took off all our wet things and we snuggled up in bed for a little while to recover from being soaked. Even once he was back to his happy self he didn’t want to get dressed, so I put a fresh diaper on him and let him hang out in just a diaper for a while.

IMG_7836I wanted to go out to play this evening but then I remembered the grass was wet from the rain. Then I thought about going for another little walk, until I remembered the stroller had gotten soaked and probably wasn’t dry yet. Oh well! We went out and played on the sidewalk out front for just 5 – 10 minutes while we waited for Daddy to get home.

We are hoping for some much better weather this weekend and next week. Friday we head back up to the camp and we will be staying there through Wednesday. My parents will be there too, so it will be nice for Lewis to get to spend more time with his grandparents. I’ll make sure I get the Photo Friday post ready before we go, but besides that I probably won’t be doing any updates until next week when we get back here.

 

Leave a Reply

