The Search For The Perfect Pancake

I love breakfast food. Pancakes, french toast, scrambled eggs, omelettes, bacon, donuts… Pretty much any and all breakfast food is delicious. Unfortunately much of it contains eggs, and as we found out a few months ago, Lewis has a slight egg allergy. I think pancakes would be a great food for him, and can be made pretty healthy, so I’ve been testing out different eggless pancake recipes. Chris and I generally use Bisquick when we make pancakes, and I could have tried that with just leaving the egg out, but because of all the soduim in the mix I decided it would be better to go with home-made.

My first try was a complete flop. This probably has something to do with the fact that instead of following a recipe I tried to modify a recipe from Pinterest that I had never made before. The recipe was for “greek yogurt pancakes” which sounded good and healthy. I subbed in some flax-seed mixture for the egg in the recipe. The resulting pancakes were sticky and gooey and not right. They weren’t completely in-edible. I did eat one or two and Lewis willingly ate a piece of one but I ended up throwing most of them out and would not make them again.

A while later a friend tipped me off to the fact that The Food Allergy Mama’s Baking Book was free on Kindle. I bought it, browsed through all the yummy recipes, and decided to give the pancakes a try. These turned out much better. Big and fluffy and pancakey.

Yum!

Yum!

The downside to these is that they are not in any way healthy. After the disaster with the previous recipe I decided to follow this recipe completely, so I didn’t even switch out any of the flour for whole wheat. With all white flour as well as a fair amount of sugar in the batter these were not the healthy pancakes I was looking for for Lewis. I did give him some and of course he enjoyed them. I may try this recipe again with some modifications. (Cut out most of the sugar, use all or partially whole wheat flour. Also less baking powder, since I could taste is fairly strongly in the finished pancakes.)

Today was attempt number three of pancake making. The Kindle book also has a recipe for oatmeal pancakes which seemed much healthier since they use oats and whole wheat flour. They also use even more baking powder (6 teaspoons!) than the first recipe, which didn’t sound appealing. I decided to look around online and settled on trying this recipe. I did make some modifications again this time. Instead of sour cream I used plain greek yogurt, and in place of the water I used whole milk. Cooking for babies is supposed to be done with whole milk (babies don’t need to diet, they need to grow!) and I don’t really care about taking in a little fat with my food either. I also partially ground the oats in the coffee grinder so they would be slightly less textured, although I didn’t grind them completely to a flour.

These turned out pretty good. Thick and hearty as you would expect from an oatmeal pancake. Good flavor and good texture. I can see trying these again since they fit the bill for healthy and yummy. I might grind the oats up more finely next time. I also think I will continue trying other recipes too, since I know sometimes I am in a mood for a lighter fluffier pancake.

Oatmeal pancakes.

Oatmeal pancakes.

Lewis is still napping, I made these while he was asleep and he will have them for lunch when he gets up. Hopefully he enjoys them. Also, since most babies out-grow an egg allergy by a year maybe in a few months we can go back to eating any old pancakes and not worrying about it (although I think I will still try to stay lower on the sodium and sugar content.)

Leave a Reply

