Meat Eaters

As I’ve mentioned, we do Baby Led Weaning with Lewis. That means he’s never had a mash, puree, or jarred food – we just give him real food and let him figure it out. We started off with soft/cooked fruit, steamed or roasted veggies, etc. When I give him things like yogurt or applesauce I load it onto a spoon and then hand him the spoon to put into his own mouth. Now that we’ve been doing this for three months he’s getting quite good at eating different things, and his new little teeth help too.

I gave him a chunk of raw potato one night to keep busy while I made dinner. All the little hamster-nibble marks on it are from his little teethies.

I gave him a chunk of raw potato one night to keep busy while I made dinner. All the little hamster-nibble marks on it are from his little teethies.

Most of what he’s had has been fruits and veggies. He gets yogurt usually a few times a week and some kind of grains usually once a day (Cheerios, Puffs, rice cakes, toast, pasta.) He tried scrambled eggs once and had an allergic reaction, so that’s off the menu. He’s had chicken a few times and enjoyed it and also tried turkey and pepperoni once each, but overall hasn’t had a lot of meats. This is mostly because of the way Chris and I eat. We are both very picky about what kind of meats we eat, and in general we only buy and cook boneless skinless chicken breasts. We usually have chicken a couple times a week and very occasionally will have some ground beef which is usually tacos, meatballs, or burgers for Chris and I have a veggie burger.

Most of my protein intake comes from yogurt, cheese, eggs, and peanut butter. Sometimes we have beans but not as often as we should given our lack of meat eating. Out of these things Lewis can’t have the eggs, and can only have tiny bits of peanut butter since more is a choking hazard. Cheese he can have and likes but the high sodium means he shouldn’t have too much of it. So that leaves mostly yogurt for him, and of course breast milk.

I’ve been trying to branch out with what we are giving him anyway, offering more mixed dishes, more seasonings, letting him try more of what Chris and I are having rather than just giving a plain fruit or veggie. I’ve decided that I want to work on adding a little more meat into our diet as a family, and especially trying different types of meat with Lewis to let him taste them. Just because Mommy and Daddy are picky doesn’t mean he shouldn’t get a chance to try things for himself.

Last night we cooked something that isn’t too far off from our “usual” but is something we haven’t cooked/eaten together before. I had
Chris cook up some ground beef and various veggies, and we had spaghetti with a chunky meat sauce. I saved out some of the meat for Lewis before it was added to the sauce, although I did give him a few saucy pieces too. He loved it!

"This is yummy but these noodles are a little tricky to eat!"

“This is yummy but these noodles are a little tricky to eat!”

We will definitely be making this again, and trying some other new things as a family. I’ve been researching egg-free meatballs and found some yummy looking turkey meatballs. I’ll have to start looking at other meaty recipes too and see what else looks good to try.

Leave a Reply

