Bringing The Outside In

If there is one negative to Lewis being a fall baby it’s that he hasn’t been able to play outside yet. We love to bundle up and go for lots of walks when it is nice enough, but I wish I could bring him outside and put him down on the ground to enjoy the outside world! We put him in a snow suit and brought him outside once, when he was 4 months old, but that was mostly just for us because we wanted cute snow pictures.

IMG_3944

He wasn’t sitting yet, so I made a hole in the snow to prop him up.

We didn’t stay out long because it was windy and cold even with the sun, and we weren’t sure how dry the little snowsuit would keep him. He looked at the snow a bit while we were out, but for the most part seemed pretty oblivious to it. It’s only recently that he has started to become really curious about his world, and he now pays attention to the trees and cars and everything else he can see from his stroller. I’d love to take him out now that he is more interested in observing and exploring, but the snowsuit is too small now and we don’t have any other good options for bundling him.

Lewis still wakes a few times each night, which means I  have a lot of dark quiet non-sleeping time for my mind to wander. When I was up with him last night and could see the snow piling up outside I started wishing I could take him outside, and then thought of an alternative: I would just bring the outside in to him!

Why are you making me play with this horrible cold stuff?!?

Why are you making me play with this horrible cold stuff?!?

We used to sometimes bring snow in to our sensory table when I was teaching at KinderCare but we would put mittens on the kids while they played with shovels, buckets, etc. I gave him a couple tools to use but he’s not really to the stage yet where he understands scooping and such. I didn’t want to put mittens on him because the whole point was for him to actually experience the snow, and to feel the cold wetness of it. He was not a fan. Several times he picked up a bit, made faces, dropped it on the towel, looked at the bowl thinking about it, and then picked up a little more only to drop it again.

Looking at the snow he had dropped on the towel.

Looking at the snow he had dropped on the towel.

His play lasted for maybe five minutes total, and then he decided he was really really done.

My hands are so cold why did you do this to me??

My hands are so cold why did you do this to me??

Please pick me up now mom, I never want to see snow ever again.

Please pick me up now mom, I never want to see snow ever again.

He did enjoy watching the snow falling outside our windows, and was equally happy when the sun came out this afternoon to shine on our floor again.

We are looking forward to more warm weather!

One thought on “Bringing The Outside In

  1. Pingback: Sounds Of The Wild | Tree Mama

Leave a Reply

